Friendly Fires is (also) better than Bloc Party

So I just started getting into this British band, Friendly Fires, and I’m sorry to say that I just now heard about these kids while checking out some other blogs. Let it be known that I am not in the know, and that if there were such thing as a “good music radar” mine would probably only be good for cooking food.

Anyway…

FRIENDLY FIRES released their debut album in September. Before that they were featured on Kitsune Records Vol. 5 as well as the soundtrack to Gran Turismo 5 Prologue, a game that makes me drool. Here are some of my fave tracks from their album.

This is the first song I heard from Friendly Fires. The
lyrics are cute and the percussion is quite rhythmic. I’d suggest
learning to play this on guitar and singing it to girls when you want
some good indie poontang.

Friendly Fires. – Paris

This next song was the one featured in Gran Turismo 5 Prologue. It can be described as “minimalist funk.” At times the lead vocalist sounds like Beck, but he manages to spice things up with his vocal range.

Friendly Fires – On Board

“Jump In the Pool” is the album’s intro song, and it does a good job of giving the listener a glimpse into the style of the music to come. I probably should have posted this one first, but it’s too late for that now.

Friendly Fires – Jump In the Pool

2 Responses to “Friendly Fires is (also) better than Bloc Party”

  1. good call on the band, sir.

  2. I’m still sticking to my statement that the new bloc party cd is great

Leave a Reply

